Castle of Sümeg
Hungary's best-preserved fortress originates from the middle 13th century. It was built by King Béla the IV., who lived here for a while during the Mongolian invasion (1241-1242). It was extended several times during the past centuries. The castle can be divided into three major parts: external, internal and Citadel. The castle has a dominant role in the town's development and it's history. Excavation and reconstruction started in 1957 and took seven years. The castle is in private ownership since 1989. In the early 1990's began a reconstruction which is still going on. Since 1994 the artists of the Sándor Petőfi Theatre of Veszprém stage plays within the framework of 'Sümeg Castle Theatre' (Sümegi Várszínház) during the summer season.