Church and Convent of Saint Francis from Assisi
Small local church of Saint Francis and adjacent convent of Saint Mary. In 1216, Saint Francis received the small church of Saint Mary from the Barons of Celano together with the land which surrounded the Castle of Vetulo. Between 1216 and 1221 the first part of a convent was built. In 1238 the Castle was owned by the Baron Trasmondo. In 1267, Fra Giacomo, Bishop of Sulmona, allowed the building of a wider church and permitted to finish the building works inside the convent. In 1288 the church of Saint Francis and the adjacent convent of Saint Mary were consecrated by the Bishop of Sabina. In 1294 the future Pope Celestine V expressed his desire to stop by in Castelvecchio in order to visit the church and the convent. Here, he made a miracle. Since then, every 28th August, many people go to visit the church and hope for miracles. The complex is composed of two cloisters; one which was built in the medieval period and another one which was built in XIX century.