The City Hall, Town hall or Magistrate, the central architectural symbol of the city, as it was called by the citizen of Sombor in the last two and half centuries, was built on the foundation of the former “court” (castle) of Sombor’s captain, the count Jovan Janko Branković. He started building the castle in the city centre soon after the appointment to the new duty. Jovan Branković died in Sombor in 1734 and his widow Marija sold the castle immediately after Sombor obtained the status of a free and royal town in 1749 for 500 forints to a newly-appointed city administration. Sombor citizens solved the accommodation problem of city administration with this purchase. On the foundations of the old building a new building was finished in 1842, built according to the plan of the Gfeler family of building contractors. The new building of the City Hall, built in neo classicism style, had a symmetrical squared base, whereas its front part was moved from its eastern to western side where a new tower was built; under the tower there was a protuberance with pillars and a spacious balcony that lead into the big auditorium. On the eastern side of the City Hall the façade had a protuberance with a narrow and long balcony under which there were two pairs of Doric pillars. The architecture of the north and south façade of the building was the same, with shallow relief frames around the windows. Firemen were on duty on the newly-built tower of the City Hall, the shops were housed on the ground floor, the city administration and personnel on the first floor, whereas the yard served as a warehouse of firemen equipment and stable for city horses. The main auditorium of the City Hall was arranged in 1851 by the architect Karl Gfeler. The meetings of the Magistrate and elected Society as well as balls and ceremonies were held in it. A stone monument dedicated to Holy Trinity was erected in 1774 on the square west of the City Hall and stood there for a long period of time. It was a classic baroque sculpture with an elegant, gracious, high pillar with the statue of Holy Trinity at the top. The monument, which stood for over 170 years as one of the architectural amenities of the city, was irreparably damaged during its removal from the city square in 1947.