Holy Well of St Elijah
The first written document of the holy well was found on the manuscript card dated 1868. According to a popular belief, there was a spring in the vineyard of Nedeljko Kovačević, near Mostonga. An unknown man appeared and said to the master that the spring is blessed and has healing powers. Master Nedeljko did not believe this story and chased off the unknown man. After a few weeks, a girl appeared. She brought a cross with her because she wanted to mark the well as holy. After this event, the believers started coming in processions. They damaged the vineyard to a great extent. Master started raging, chased off the believers and threw the cross in Mostonga. He got ill on that very day. His sons barely managed to take him to Sombor. He was ill for weeks, when Virgin Mary appeared in his dream and told him that the spring was really blessed by the God. After this, Master Kovačević pledged to build the well around the spring and put up a new and more beautiful cross instead of the one he threw into the reeds. Folks visited the well on Mark's Day until World War One. They celebrated Patron Saint's Day near the Holy Well. In the beginning of 1920s, they decided to build the chapel next to the well and the cross from donations. They ordered projects from Svetozar Krotin. The bell was bought by Ilija Segenčev with his wife Đurđica. This complex consists of two memorial crosses, the one put up by the Nikolić family, and the other by Stanka Dodić. This new complex was consecrated in 1928. Since then, Patron Saint's Day of the Church is celebrated on that very day, August 2, the Day of St Elijah.