Saint Iona Tower
The Tower of Saint Iona in the town of Ovindoli Saint Iona tower was erected in XIII century by the Count of Celano and was initially a watchtower, therefore it was isolated from the village. Later on, the village expanded and included the tower which became a linking point between the Castle of Saint Potito and the Castle of Celano. The tower has a round base and is composed of two parts: the lower one is 7 metres high, with a diameter of 3,30 mt and was originally used as a warehouse and cystern. It was divided in two spaces, in fact the housing of the beams are still visible in the intermediate floor. The upper part has an octogonal base and was used from the guard-house. The entrance was through a wooden ladder on the Southern part of the tower, towards the river Fucino. Just beneath the ladder, was a wooden bridge. The upper part is 13,35 mt high and it was built with squared white rocks. It is possible that the height of the tower was modified later on or that it was crenellated. In 1915 an earthquake and the war might have probably damaged it.