The City Museum of Sombor (Fernbah's House)
A rich grain trader Anton Fernbah from Apatin built an elegant one-story eclectic house between 1870 and 1872, facing the Hotel “Lovački Rog” (Hunter's Horn). Fernbah's House has a facade with three projections, the middle one being the widest with two windows and a door on the ground floor and with three arched windows on the first floor which are framed with Tuscan pilasters and a balcony supported with massive consoles. The right-hand side projection forms a semi-circular base like an oriel window. In the corners of the front of the building are two small balconies. The entrance hall in the building has a rectangular base with a flat ceiling and walls decorated by Tuscan pilasters. The facade is decorated with rustic decorations. After World War One, a rich Jewish estate owner Julije Lederer bought the building from the Fernbah's and it was owned by the Lederer's family until World War Two and it was there that they were killed because of their Jewish origin. Immediately after World War Two, in 1945, the City Museum was moved in, based on the tradition and material holdings of the Historical Society of Bačka-Bodroš County and established in Sombor in 1883. The Society was first based in the Prefecture Building and had archeological, numismatic, archival and bibliographic collection. Today, one of the most impressive collections of old money and numismatic literature is kept in the building of the Museum in Sombor, which was left to his hometown by the world famous numismatist dr Imre Fraj, then archeological, historical, ethnological, artistic, natural and library collection - testimonies which are of special importance for learning about the history of Sombor and its vicinity. In addition to its permanent collection, the City Museum regularly organizes thematic exhibitions from their own holdings or from borrowed museum and art holdings.