The Roman Catholic Church of Holy Trinity and Franciscan Monastery (Old Catholic Church)
On the ruins of old Turkish buildings, Sombor Rascians of Catholic Faith (Rasciani Ritus Catholicorum), as Bunjevci were called at the beginning of 18th century by Vienna Emperor Authorities, started building in 1717 the Church of Holy Trinity that was finished in 1719. In June 1752, next to the old church a new cornerstone was placed in the foundation of a new church; stone dedicated to eternal, great, wise, gracious and fair Holy Trinity. The building of this church in classic baroque style with one-nave base and sloping apse was finished ten years later. Baroque church tower, 53 metres high, was built in 1768 and the church acquired its present appearance after the cross had been placed on it. Smaller interior artistic works continued until 1786, which means that, apart from baroque elements, the elements of rococo were noticeable in the interior. The church tower was systematically renovated in 1883, when its form was considerably changed in comparison to the old one. After the new Carmelite Church was completely finished in 1902, the people from Sombor started calling the Church of Holy Trinity “the old church”. Franciscan Monastery (Parish House, Plebanija) The building of the monastery started in 1743. The Franciscan monastery, building of a square shape, was finished in 1749, and in its premises on the ground floor, on the base of a privilege letter by Empress Maria Theresa, on 24 April 1749; Sombor was officially declared a free and royal town. On the vaults and ceilings of these ground-floor premises there are, retained still today, unique baroque gypsum (plastering) ornaments. On the south façade of the former Franciscan monastery and present parochial offices there is a sundial with a strong and warning inscription: One of these is your last! In the hall of the Franciscan monastery a stone washbasin is built, brought from a former Turkish bath in the 18th century and preserved to present day as one of the rare monuments of the Turkish period in Sombor. The former building of Franciscan monastery was, from the end of 18th century, surrounded from its south and eastern sides with town green market. In 1820, the market was fenced with strong wrought chains, that stretched between short poles made of red marble (since then, the market is called 'chained green market').