The Šturmajce homestead in Gorenja Kanomlja, which was first mentioned in 1335, is one of the most important homesteads in the Idrija region. The majestic house was renovated and enlarged in 1792. Its exterior is enriched with farm-frescoes, which were probably made by the folk painter Frančišček Kobau in 1802. The house still has two black kitchens, with the lower kitchen having 3 fireplaces, 2 of which are still preserved and which were used by two different families. The house is also very well preserved (the main room in the house), seeing that it contains a big furnace and boasts a beautifully carved ceiling, as well as a small room. Various objects which were used every day are put on display in different rooms of the house. The upper rooms were used for sleeping. Alongside the central house, the homestead in the 19th and 20th centuries included also a granary, a barn, a corn-rack, a drying area for fruit ('pajštva'), 4 guest houses, a mill and 4 earth cabins. As explained by the owner, the homestead, at the beginning of the 20th century, covered 100 ha of land, while the estate started to crumble in 1907. Just before WWI Šturmajci was a home to around 70 people, who helped on the farm. Some families lived in guest houses, while two families lived alongside the owner's family in the main house. Social-economic changes brought changes also to the lives of people at the Šturmajci homestead. People started leaving the homestead, where only the family of Julij and Milka Petrič stayed, and who after the earthquake of 1976 build a smaller house in the immediate vicinity of the homestead. From past buildings, only the main house, the granary, the barn and the corn-rack remain preserved.